top of page
  • Writer's pictureFlavio Matani

A view onto the world

Updated: Mar 5, 2023

Sometime in 1978 in Caracas my home town I bought a Zenit Model E. a Soviet made camera built like a tank but with the F stops readings printed the wrong way round. It took me a long time to figure the camera out, partly because of this and partly because I knew nothing about cameras or photography. And there is so much that I still don't know! I'm a musician (check my other site, https://www.flaviomataniguitar.com for details on this) and photography is essentially a hobby, not a professional endeavour. But it is a passion, trying to capture what you saw in the world in some fleeting instant. And this means several things, because I'm trying to capture not necessarily what the world 'really' is, whatever that means, .but what my perception of that particular instant was.



Music students visiting the Chorrera, Estado Mérida in the Venezuelan Andres
Music students visiting the Chorrera, Estado Mérida in the Venezuelan Andres

4 views0 comments
bottom of page